ToxicyTracker: A hub for tracking chemical policy

I’ve always considered myself somewhat of a public affairs generalist – more expert in the management and processes by which work gets done and community is built than in any one specific policy area.  However, when pushed to define a single area of interest, I’ve found myself intrigued by the intersection of human, economic, and environmental health.

The issue of chemical policy falls right at that intersection.  As a part of a Social Media class for the Humphrey School of Public Affairs, I am positioning myself as an info agent on this area.  Though I know this topic may seem highly technical to those not working in this field, it’s a particularly timely issue right now with the introduction of the Safe Chemicals Act of 2011 in Congress back in April.

I have been out putting my ear to the ground in Facebook, Google, Twitter, and the blogosphere to see who else is interested, talking, and listening around this issue.  Based on that listening exercise, I bring you…my summary of chemistry policy resources.  Over the course of the next couple months, I will be following and interacting all these sources, individuals, and organizations – trying to help others realize not only the importance of this issue but make sense of it.  You can connect with my efforts on Facebook, Twitter, and – of course – right here on this blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

